E Cigs


Well, it’s been a while since I was last active on here. Though, I figure I’ll share some about my new “toy.”

I just received my electronic cigarette (e cig), a Joye eGo. Now, bear in mind that I have never owned one of these before. I was able to order the starter kit for about $60.00 (they range from about $50 to $75, depending on make/model and vendor), which is about what I spend per month on rolling tobacco and filter tubes. And to be clear, outside of replacement parts, the starter kit is a one-time expense.

So, the kit includes two batteries, a charger for said batteries,  two atomizers (the vapor-making device), two empty cartridges/mouth-pieces, and 5 pre-filled cartridges. The batteries come partially charged, which is nice. In fact, the kit pretty much is setup to let you start “smoking” right away. Now, at this point, I won’t get into the chemical makeup of the “juice” vs tobacco smoke. I’ve already heard several different takes on this, and I personally don’t think the claims that e cig juice is any worse for a person than actual smoking. If nothing else, based on what I’ve looked up so far, there are fewer known carcinogens in the vapor produced from an e cig, than are present in tobacco smoke. (I am not endorsing one over the other with that statement, just stating my observations)

So, back to the kit: After installing the first cartridge, I gave the unit its first try. It’s quite a different experience compared to smoking tobacco. Not bad, just different. I’ve also noticed I can get quite a head-rush off a drag from this thing. That’s something I haven’t experienced with cigarettes in quite some time. Of course, it could also be that the nicotine concentration in the vapor is higher than what I’m used to. So, there is definitely a need for some “trial&error” in using one of these devices.

As far as long-term costs go, compared to normal cigarettes, I can only speculate and project. Though I do speculate that in the long-run, using an e cig will be far cheaper to maintain, compared to tobacco. The atomizers have an expected 4 week life-span, and run about $7 to $10. The “juice” appears to run anywhere between $7 to $15 for a 10ml bottle of fluid. Fluid strengths seem to range from 6-8mg (low strength), 12-16mg (medium), and 20-24mg (strong). While I haven’t done any heavy investigation into it yet, a person can also get the compounds to make their own custom mixes at different strengths.

Overall, I think this has been a solid investment on my part. But to be clear, there are no “health benefits” to using an e cig. They just seem to be “less bad” than tobacco. So, while technically not a health benefit, I’m willing to say that “less bad” is still a good thing.

~ by Xandalis on 10 September, 2010.

One Response to “E Cigs”

  1. I’m just so glad you’re doing this.

Leave a Reply

 
